Area For Implementation of MSDP


Muslims , Sikhs, Christians, Buddhists and Zoroastrians (Parsis) have been notified as minority communities under Section2 (c) of the National Commission for Minorities Act,1992.As per Census 2001, the percent age of minorities in the country is about 18.4% of the total population of the country ,of which Muslims are 13.4%;Christians 2.3%; Sikhs1.9%, Buddhists 0.8% and Parsis 0.007%.




(i) Block as the unit of planning: The unit of planning for implementation of MsDP would be Block instead of district as at present. This would sharpen the focus of the program on the minority concentration areas as district became a big unit for this purpose. Further, this would also help in covering the deserving minority concentration blocks (MCBs) which are at presently in go outside the present MCDs.

Blocks with a minimum of 25% minority population falling in the backward districts selected on the basis of backwardness parameters adopted during11th Five Year Plan, would be identified as the backward Minority Concentration Blocks (MCBs). In case of 6 States (Lakshadweep ,Punjab, Nagaland, Meghalaya, Mizoram and Jammu & Kashmir), where a minority community is in majority, a lower cut-off of 15% of minority population, other than that of the minority community in majority in that State/UT , would be adopted. The backwardness parameters adopted for identification of the backward districts (same as theoneadoptedduring11th Five Year Plan) are:

(a)     Religion-specific socio-economic indicators at the district level -

(i)      Literacy rate;

(ii)     Female literacy rate;

(iii)     Work participation rate; and

(iv)    Female work participation rate; and


(b)     Basic amenities indicators at the District level-

(i)      Percentage of households with pucca walls;

(ii)     Percentage of households with safe drinking water;

(iii)     Percentage of households with electricity;

In selected blocks, the village shaving higher minority population would be given priority for creation of the village level infrastructures/assets. Location of the assets should be so selected that the catchment area should have at least 25% minority population. A total of 710 such minority concentration blocks falling in 155 backward districts have been identified on the basis of data from Census 2001.


(ii) Cluster of minority concentration villages falling outside the identified minority concentration blocks: Within the blocks of backward districts not selected as MCBs, cluster of contiguous minority concentration villages (having at least 50% minority population) would be identified. In case of hilly areas of North Eastern States, such villages having minorities population of 25% may be identified .About 500 villages which are falling outside the minority concentration blocks would be covered through such clusters. Identification of the clusters fulfilling the above criteria would be done by the States/UTs. The identified clusters would be recommended by the State Level Committee to the Empowered Committee for its final selection for implementation of the program. The Empowered Committee would finalize the selection of the cluster and would also fix the allocation for each cluster for the12thFive Year Plan.


(III) Backward Minority Concentration Towns / Cities: Towns /cities with a minimum of 25% minority population (in case of 6 States / UTs, 15% of minority population, other than that of the minority community in majority in that State / UT) having both socio- economic and basic amenities parameters below national average, would be identified as Minority Concentration Towns / Cities for the implementation of the program. A total of 66 minority concentration towns of 53 districts falling outside the 90 MCDs, have been identified for the implementation of the program .The program will intervene only for the promotion of education, including skill and vocational education for empowering the minority in town/cities.

Thus the program would cover 710 Blocks and 66 towns falling in 196 district. The list of Block / Town /Cities is at Appendix–I. However, this would be revised on the availability of data of 2011 Census, or, if any, new block/ town fulfilling the criteria is reported by the States.